Tag Archives: Mahaparinirvan Express

About Mahaparinirvan Express

The Mahaparinirvana Express targets Buddhist pilgrims interested in visiting holy sites associated with the Buddha and located in Northern India.

History –

Launched on 28 March 2007, it takes passengers on a 7-nights-and- 8-days spiritual journey to pilgrim spots such as Bodhgaya, Varanasi, Lumbini and Kushinagar. It is named after Mahaparinirvana Sutra that includes some of the famous episodes from the final months of the Buddha’s life.

Services –

The train is operated by the Indian Railways using carriages of the Rajdhani Express. It offers completely air-conditioned travel in three classes – first class, two-tier and three-tier.

The toilets and showers are limited on board, but pilgrims are taken to hotels daily to allow them to freshen up or even for an overnight rest. A hygienic kitchen on board the train serves hot meals, whereas packaged drinking water and tea/coffee are available free of cost.

Because this train is targeted at pilgrims, it is not lavish enough and comparison with luxury trains must be avoided at all costs.

  • Mahaparinirvan Express Route, Schedule & Time Table –

–> Day 1 – Delhi

–> Day 2 – Bodhgaya

–> Day 3 – Nalanda/Rajgir

–> Day 4 – Varanasi/Sarnath

–> Day 5 – Kushinagar

–> Day 6 – Lumbini

–> Day 7 – Sravasti

–> Day 8 – Agra/Delhi